Russian newspaper Izvestia reports that criminals have started to use a new method of deception in Telegram, through which they steal people's user accounts.

From an account called "Security Tips", the criminals, posing as the messenger's support staff, warn the user that their account has been blocked after they received information that it was being used for fraud. They also note that the information of suspicious activity with the given user account has been confirmed by their system.

After that, scammers offer the user to authenticate and for this purpose send a link and ask to go through that link, which actually leads to a fake authentication page. If the user enters his data there, the fraudsters can already access the victim's user account with that data and steal it.

NEWS.am Tech reported earlier that criminals in Russia started sending dangerous messages to Telegram users. The Ministry of Internal Affairs released a screenshot of correspondence with an unknown person who sent the user an apk file and the message "Hello, are you taking pictures?"

The ministry warned that the photo cannot have an apk extension, unlike malware. "If you receive such a message, do not download the files under any circumstances," warned the Ministry of Internal Affairs.