Yandex announced that from now on a new policy for working with inactive Yandex ID accounts comes into force. According to the new rules, if an account has not been used for 2.5 years, it will be deleted after a few notifications.

The company's press service clarified that in this way Yandex ID strengthens the protection of user accounts from attacks. To that end, starting in October, the service will begin notifying users with inactive accounts that if they want to continue using them, they must confirm that they are still using the service. The company will also notify users of the need to enhance security measures.

If the user does not take any new actions in the service for at least one month after the notification, then after a few notifications Yandex will begin to delete inactive user accounts without the possibility of recovery.

To maintain an account, it will be enough if its owners simply log into any Yandex service or perform any action through this account; for example, send a letter, save new photos or files on Yandex Disk, etc.

“The new policy is based on increasing the protection of users’ personal data. Account owners often forget about the accounts they created or may lose access to them. Inactive accounts are often protected by old passwords; they are the most vulnerable and, if compromised, can become a source of access to personal information or be used to send unwanted or malicious content,” the company’s press service clarified.