Apple plans to close its popular online photo storage service My Photo Stream by the end of July this year. According to TechRadar, the service will shut down on July 26.
My Photo Stream was launched in 2011 and has since become one of the main photo storage platforms for Apple users. The service automatically downloaded the last 1,000 iPhone photos that the user had access to from all their Apple devices.
However, once My Photo Stream is closed, all photos stored in it will be deleted or moved to another company service, iCloud Photos. It should be noted that transferring photos to iCloud Photos will be available only to users who have a subscription to this service.
TechRadar recommends making sure that My Photo Stream does not contain any valuable files. To do this, you can follow the following procedure:
Photos selected in this way will be saved in your smartphone memory and will not be deleted after closing My Photo Stream.
According to TechRadar, Apple's decision to shut down this service is due to the fact that My Photo Stream features are also available in the more popular iCloud Photos online platform. Most likely, the company has decided to focus its efforts on the development of the latter in order to provide users with a more convenient and perfect service for saving and synchronizing their precious moments and photos on all Apple devices.